top of page
搜尋
作家相片Yujie Li

Week10 The End

Before taking this class, I always thought that the most important thing in composition class was writing skills. But after I finished this class, I found that writing is just one way to express our thoughts. The expression of ideas is not limited to use writing but also use multiple forms to express one's opinions. In this class, I used podcasts and microsite to express my opinions about how Disney build the social construction to gender role, which made me realize that we need to learn to use other media other than writing.



The second one is that I had a big problem: my essay structure did not have a clear and logical structure before this class, but the podcast assignment helped me form an unambiguous framework for my writing. When I was thinking about the podcast's outline and topic, I thought about the whole writing framework and kept polish it. This gave me a very clear framework and a logical structure in the writing project.

Before taking this writing class, I did not have a deep understanding of social construction, especially the social construction of gender, and I did not pay much attention to it. But after studying and researching it in this entire quarter, I found that social construction is an essential concept for each of us, society, and culture. Social construction continuously affects each of us's behaviors, values, and cognitions. I will continue to study the social construction of gender in the future.



Improper time management is the biggest issue. I think I did not improve my efficiency when writing homework, which caused me to spend a lot of time finishing homework. For example, when writing annotations, I tried to write down all the contents, such as lyrics or actions, which took me a lot of time in annotations. So I will focus on keeping the key points in the annotations in the future.

Besides, writing skill is also a thing that I need to practice in the future. There are two main problems; one is grammar, and the other is the conciseness of sentences. It is easy for me to express a meaning in a more complicated way, which wastes a lot of words and makes my essay wordy. So I will continue to practice in my future studies. The best solution to the second problem is to read the article aloud after finishing my writing. This is a beneficial method I found when I was doing self-review so that I will continue to use this method to solve sentence conciseness in the future.



16 次查看2 則留言

最新文章

查看全部

My Three Sources

1. Looking into the Magic Mirror: Disney's Impact on the Fairy Tale Genre - Haas, Lynda and Shaina Trapedo It is an essay about gender in...

2 Comments


Hey Yujie! I am glad to hear you have found a solution when editing your essay! I also found it very helpful reading my work out loud. I think it is a great way to catch our mistakes. Keep doing great! I wish you well in your finals and your classes next quarter. Hope to see you around in future writing classes!

Like

Peihao Hu
Peihao Hu
Mar 15, 2021

Hi yujie,

I also have similar problem as yours. When I do self review section, I found I did not have a clear topic sentence in the beginning of some paragraphs. When I go through the whole passage, I found the logic of my paper is kind of unreasonable. So if we work harder and practice more, I think we will have a huge improvement on this.

Like
bottom of page